Beginners DSLR Photography Course

This short beginners dslr photography course is aimed at total beginners who own a dslr camera and want to unpack some of its amazing potential. Participants will learn how to operate their cameras in manual mode, make correct exposures and understand the basics like aperture, shutter speed and ISO.

equipement needed for beginners dslr photography course

By ensuring that you understand what photography actually IS and how the digital SLR works as a tool in this context you will gain an understanding and control of the DSLR system which no user manual or trial and error approach could ever hope to give you.

student on beginners dslr photography course

The digital camera photography course that Jason ran was absolutely great. I learnt so much on the day. The content was really interesting and was backed up by great and fascinating practical examples.

Richard Draper

Great photography experience

This photography course normally runs from 10.00am to 2.00pm with a short coffee break halfway through.

During the beginners dslr photography course you will learn:

  • Metering – the most important function of your camera
  • ISO – photo sensitivity explained in clear, jargon free terms
  • White balance – how to avoid unpleasant blue and yellow casts in your photography
  • Focus – an introduction to this elusive and deceptively tricky area of photography
  • Programmes – the main programmes explained from the ground up
  • Lenses – an in depth exploration, and how camera lenses can help add more creative control to your digital photography
  • f-stops – how to get the desired exposure using a combination of shutter speeds and f/stops

Our beginners dslr photography course not only explains the basic science and nature of photography, but also introduces lots of hands-on practice sessions during which you will learn how to control and combine all different camera functions creatively.

  • how to compose great shots
  • how to capture sport and action on your camera
  • best way to photograph people, objects and landscapes
  • the art of good photography composition.
  • the rule of thirds in composition
  • how to use tones to add depth to scenes
  • an introduction to ‘the decisive moment’.
Course key facts
Course level 1
Foundation
beginner and intermediate
Group size
07 students
optimal tutor attention
Duration
1 day
10:00am – 2:00pm
Location
London
Wimbledon Art Studios10 Riverside Yard
Riverside Road
London SW17 0BB

Photography Gift Vouchers

Our Photography Course Gift Vouchers make perfect presents to celebrate a birthday, fathers day, Christmas or any other occasion!
Buy as Gift Voucher

FAQ and guide to Gift Vouchers

Photography Gift Vouchers for Christmas

Get started!

Learn, take control and begin to realise and fullfill your dream of taking consistently great pictures.

Take advantage of our Summer Offer and Save £20 on Beginners photography courses in July and August (£69 / £89). Offer ends 31/08/2014.

Date Day Time Course Places Price
26 Oct 2014 Sunday 10:00 am - 2:00 pm sold out 69.00 Waiting list
30 Oct 2014 Thursday 10:00 am - 2:00 pm only 3 left 69.00 Book now
01 Nov 2014 Saturday 10:00 am - 2:00 pm only 2 left 69.00 Book now
02 Nov 2014 Sunday 10:00 am - 2:00 pm only 3 left 69.00 Book now
08 Nov 2014 Saturday 10:00 am - 2:00 pm 6 69.00 Sign up
12 Nov 2014 Wednesday 10:00 am - 2:00 pm only 2 left 69.00 Book now
16 Nov 2014 Sunday 10:00 am - 2:00 pm only 2 left 69.00 Book now
22 Nov 2014 Saturday 10:00 am - 2:00 pm 6 69.00 Sign up
27 Nov 2014 Thursday 10:00 am - 2:00 pm 6 69.00 Sign up
29 Nov 2014 Saturday 10:00 am - 2:00 pm 5 69.00 Sign up
07 Dec 2014 Sunday 10:00 am - 2:00 pm 5 69.00 Sign up
10 Dec 2014 Wednesday 10:00 am - 2:00 pm 6 69.00 Sign up
13 Dec 2014 Saturday 10:00 am - 2:00 pm 5 69.00 Sign up
28 Dec 2014 Sunday 10:00 am - 2:00 pm 6 69.00 Sign up
03 Jan 2015 Saturday 10:00 am - 2:00 pm 6 89.00 Sign up
07 Jan 2015 Wednesday 10:00 am - 2:00 pm 6 89.00 Sign up
11 Jan 2015 Sunday 10:00 am - 2:00 pm 5 89.00 Sign up
17 Jan 2015 Saturday 10:00 am - 2:00 pm 6 89.00 Sign up
18 Jan 2015 Sunday 10:00 am - 2:00 pm 6 89.00 Sign up
22 Jan 2015 Thursday 10:00 am - 2:00 pm 6 89.00 Sign up
24 Jan 2015 Saturday 10:00 am - 2:00 pm 6 89.00 Sign up
25 Jan 2015 Sunday 10:00 am - 2:00 pm 6 89.00 Sign up